Physical Fitness Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for physical fitness professionals, athletes, trainers, and those providing health-related needs. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm planning on bodybuilding for a few months, and I want to start using whey protein. I'm lactose intolerant and experience serious stomachaches whenever I drink milk.

I see "lactose free" label on some whey protein supplements, but there isn't any lactose-free protein supplements in Turkey that I could find. Do other whey protein supplements have too much lactose? If I use those supplements, will I experience stomachaches?

For example, something like the 100% Whey Powder states in its allergen information that it contains milk, but doesn't state anything about lactose.

share|improve this question
Lactose is the primary sugar found in milk, so if it contains milk it will contain lactose. As Robin says, depending on how sensitive you are, any lactose could cause upsets. Is internet/mail order an option in Turkey? – JohnP Jul 26 '12 at 14:59
@JohnP Turkish customs doesnt allow supplements for individuals. But there a lots of provider, like GNC – Eray Jul 26 '12 at 17:30
up vote 2 down vote accepted

It's unlikely that whey protein would contain a significant amount of lactose. Depending on your level of sensitivity even trace amounts could cause problems, but more likely than not you'll be fine with any whey protein you eat. If you can buy a small portion to try, that would be best.

Alternately, unless you're vegetarian, meat is a good source of protein, as are eggs, and food sources are always better than supplements. If you can get enough protein from meat and eggs, you might not even have to bother with the whey protein.

share|improve this answer
Are there other protein alternatives to Whey? – Eray Jul 26 '12 at 9:33
Other than natural foods, there are protein powders that are made from peas, soy, and a few other sources. – JohnP Jul 26 '12 at 14:58
I see a lots of soy protein, in GNC store. Are they equal to Whey? And as a second question : Can i trust 'lactose free' labeled Whey proteins? – Eray Jul 26 '12 at 17:58
They're not equal to whey, but if you have a bad reaction to whey protein, then that's your other option. I'd still just go for eating eggs though, but I admit I'm generally pro whole foods and anti supplements. I wouldn't expect whey protein to have lactose, but only you would really know if you can trust the labels of supplements sold locally. – Robin Ashe Jul 26 '12 at 18:04

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.